Breaking Through: Talking about suicide

Such a great article about suicide – but lso about connecting to each other (as support for those who may be in suicidal conditions)

A Bond as Powerful as Certainty

 ♦◊♦

Over the last couple of months since my TED Talk, I’ve been getting a lot of people contacting me through social media. They are mostly young people, which is great, but there’s a mix of others too. They come from all around the world. Many of them want something very simple from me. They just need someone to tell their secrets to.

I’m happy to listen. 

Their secrets are almost always about their mental health. Or, rather, the darkness within it. Admittedly, sometimes it scares the shit out of me. But, for the most part, it’s something that I know a bit about. Mostly because I’ve been there.

I’m not an expert. In fact, thanks to my probably pathological inferiority complex, with a dash of mother issues and a hint of chronic insecurity, I’m often uncomfortable when people actually listen to me. I’ll save those details for my therapist.

But it’s…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 873 weitere Wörter

Kommentar verfassen

